Playing that “girly” sport

Dear Jerry,

All my life I’ve played basketball. I grew up watching my siblings play, my Dad coach, and waiting impatiently until I reached that glorious age of eligibility. I had never even thought to expand into other sports. That changed this summer, when my oldest sister became the Athletic director of the Lee County HomeSchoolers. And the volleyball coach! Of course she tried to persuade me to play on the team.

Volleyball?

Really?

That’s a “girly” sport.

I’m not kidding, those were the things I was thinking! But through a lot of persuading, I decided to give it a try. I missed the first month of practicing because I was in Texas. So when I got back, I had one practice before our first games. I admit unfortunately, I went into that practice just KNOWING I was going to fail and that no one would like me because I had no idea what I was doing. So I might as well not even pretend to like it. Well let me tell you what, I was dead wrong.

Image

Those girls welcomed me onto that court like I had been there for ages. They helped me know where to be and what to do. They encouraged me even when my lack of coordination showed itself greatly. And it is not a girly sport ya’ll! I’m not sure I have ever been that sore in my life!  But you know what happened? I liked it! I don’t think I really let myself believe that for a little while. I felt almost like I was betraying my favorite sport by liking this sport too.

Now it’s true, basketball is and will always be my favorite sport. I have a passion for it. But that doesn’t mean I can’t have a passion for other sports too. And I’ve found more and more in the last few weeks that I really like volleyball! And more than that I really love the girls I play it with. They are sweet, funny, encouraging and sometimes very crazy! I love my coaches, they are constantly encouraging, especially when I get really frustrated with myself because I missed that spike or that serve was too weak.

What I’m trying to say is that don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone and try something scary. And don’t judge someone or something before you know more about it. You might find you really like it. And at the very least, gain some wonderful new friends, which I have! It doesn’t matter what you’re doing, as long as you’re doing it Soli Deo Gloria!

– Hannah

Image

2 thoughts on “Playing that “girly” sport

  1. It’s such a joy to work with you and the other Lady Ambassadors as you play Soli Deo Gloria in a sport that is anything but “girly.” Proud of you and looking forward to the rest of a great season!

Leave a Reply

