Don’t make my opinion your opinion

Dear Jerry,

As you might know I’m a reader. I read and read and read some more. I’m always on the hunt for more books to dive into. So when a dear friend and fellow reader recommended The Hunger Games series to me, I decided to check it out. Several members of my family read it and found it very intriguing, and ended up finishing the rest of the series. Many people have asked me what I thought about the book. I’ve been asked why I would read a book about kids killing other kids? Now I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone who hasn’t read it yet, so let me just say this: I would encourage you that if you are going to read this book or any other book for that matter, do so with an open mind. You may read some of it and decide you really don’t like it. That’s fine. I disagree with some really great people about this book and that’s ok. But please don’t make a quick judgment before you know what you’re judging.

The Hunger Games is one of my favorite books and I would recommend it to anyone who likes to think while they read. (If they were my age, I would encourage them to run it by their parents first.) I enjoy fiction books that make me think. And this book certainly does. I thoroughly enjoyed it and its sequels. I am excited to see the second movie in theaters this November. But that is my opinion. This is just a small thing that applies to quite a lot things in life. Don’t go with the flow just because it’s easy. Don’t make my opinion your opinion. Think and take time to form your opinion.

– Hannah

Leave a Reply

