My World Turned Upside Down

Dear Jerry,

  Three and a half years ago my family and I moved from Michigan, where we lived our whole lives, to Florida where we currently live. I came home one day from my best friends house that lived right down the street from me and saw a for sale sign in our front yard. You can imagine the panic that I was in. I had lived in that house since the time I was three. I ran inside and asked my parents what was going on, and my dad told me not to worry because the market for selling houses wasn’t good.

  After that it went back to life as normal, but the sight of that sign out front still made me cringe because I knew it meant that when it did sell, we would be moving to Florida and away from everything I had ever known. It sure was weird letting people come in our house to look around to see if they wanted to buy it. Until one day three weeks later, my dad told us the house sold and we would be moving to Florida within a week. The packing process began. It was a really sad time because my older brother and sister were in college and they would be staying there, and then there was my best friend, who I had spent almost everyday with. After the very sad week was over and we said our goodbyes, we began our drive down here to Florida where our rental house was waiting.

  We got to Florida with our friends that were going to be helping us move in, before the moving truck was there, so we spent the night on the floor. The next day, the truck got there and it was time to start the unpacking process. It did not take as long as I had imagined it would take, but it sure was a lot of work.

  So there we were, in a brand new house, a thousand miles from family and friends with only knowing one family in the city that we were now living. Lucky for me, that family had two of my great friends in it. The first couple months was hard but as time went on it got easier, I started making new friends in our church . By the time fall had come around, one of my new friends told me about a basketball team that she was a part of here. The pastor of our church coached and invited me to play with them. I was a little hesitant at first, but I ended up saying yes. That was the best decision I ever made; that was were I met some of my best friends and became closer to the ones I already had made.

  Looking back now I can see how God worked in my life and led me to where I needed to be, and I really love it here in Florida now. He really does work in mysterious ways. 🙂

-Maddy

Leave a Reply

