Chess and Me

Dear Jerry,

Chess is a game about thinking ahead. It’s a game of many challenges and many victories. You must think for both you and your opponent, you must always be one step ahead. Chess is played on an 8×8 checkered board. The standard pieces are black and white, and white always starts.
For me, playing Chess gets me thinking. If I move first, I think of all the different openings I have leaned and some of them have some very weird names. Some examples of opening names are Fried Liver, Falkbeard, Kings Gambit and Queens Gambit. After the first move the clock starts ticking, and usually both players get ten minutes each. The thrill of the game gets my blood pumping; I start to think two or three moves ahead. I always think what my opponents plan is and defend against it. The game is divided into three parts; opening, middle and endgame.
Whether I win or lose, I love it either way. For me, It’s always about learning and having fun. I play to have fun and teach, to help others enjoy the game also. Always have fun, face the challenge of your opponent and play fair.

Until next time,
Richmond

One thought on “Chess and Me

  1. bballpuppylover22

    I don’t think I ever want to play you in chess Richmond! I’m sure I’ll be beaten 🙂

Leave a Reply

