Just Around the Corner

Dear Jerry,
So lately my blog topics have been a lot about my future and collage, but the reason is because it’s just around the corner and it is on my mind a lot. Honestly it can be kind of scary to think about sometimes, but then I remember what I want to do, and it doesn’t make it so scary. I want to study sign language at FGCU starting next January to become a sign language interpreter, and possibly teach in deaf schools. I am going to take the Fall semester off to take a few tests that will hopefully get me out of some classes, but I will still get the credits for them. I will also, Lord willing, be helping out in OneRoom (our school) next year, and if I’m nice enough to Miss Sarah, maybe she will let me keep teaching sign language. (hint hint) 😉
When I first started sign language I didn’t think I would be able to use it very much in my everyday life, but I have quickly realized that isn’t true. For the past two years I have worked at Firehouse Subs and lately I have come across a quite a few deaf people that I have had the opportunity to talk to and help out. It sounds like a small thing, but it helps me immensely, and they are so willing to bear with my unpolished signing. But the more I learn, the more it gets easier.
I have not applied to FGCU (Florida Gulf Coast University) yet, but Lord willing, I will be applying within the next few months, with the help of my awesome teacher Miss Sarah Ascol. Lord knows I would be lost without her. After all, she is the one that put this crazy idea in my head in the first place. So if I am daring enough to change what I want to do half way through my senior year of high school, you can do whatever you put your mind to. Be willing to go after the crazy things in life, and don’t let people who don’t have influence in your life try to talk you out of it. If you can dream it, and are willing to put in the work, you can do it.
-Maddy Martin

Leave a Reply

