For I know the plans I have for you…

Dear Jerry,
Today I am going to talk about something that terrifies me. It has been the cause of many restless nights, long talks and even some tears. No it’s not really that horrible, but terrifying to me none the less.

You know it’s funny, it seems that once you get into high school, it is expected that you begin planning out your future. I mean, there I was a freshman and I had people already asking what were my college plans? It quickly began my least favorite conversation to have with anyone. Thinking about my future has always unnerved me.

All of my older siblings went to college even though not all of them got any degrees beyond their AA. But none of them have ever left home to go to college.

So why I am considering it?

Am I crazy for thinking that I could have the audacity to move to a different State just for college?

Maybe I am.

But God calls His children to be a little crazy sometimes. He doesn’t tell us to be all-knowing, or to try and understand everything he calls us to do. He tells us to trust. And that should be enough.

I have gone over many different college scenarios in my head and there are pros and cons to all of them. And a lot of those pros and cons are related to things beyond just a college education.

The decisions about college are fast approaching and all the while becoming increasingly more terrifying to me. College is daunting to me because it is unknown. That only makes me more thankful that I serve a God who is the sovereign over the unknown. I have been learning to surrender my fears, not only about college, but concerning everything in life to Him.

So no, I don’t know what I’m doing yet or where I’m going to college or even if I’m going to college. But I am trusting God to help guide me to do what would be most glorifying to Him. However and wherever He chooses to use me, whether that includes going super senior, beginning dual enrollment, or moving to Texas to attend college there; I need to be willing and ready.

I would crave your prayers in the next few months especially, as I make some “big kid” decisions. I am just continuing to ask that God’s will be done in my life.

– Hannah

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

