Being Best Friends Does Not Mean Being Inseparable

Dear Jerry,
As I have written about in previous posts, I moved down to Florida from Michigan. I moved when I was 13 years old, and as you know, by that point in your life, you usually already have a best friend. My best friend’s name was/is Cameron. She and I have been best friends ever since we were 3 years old. From the first day we met we were always close, literally, she lived one house down from me for over 10 years.

We spent our summers running through sprinklers, playing with water balloons (mainly just making them our “babies”), having picnics, playing house, having lemonade stands or selling anything else we could get our hands on, and sometimes we would play with “rolly pollies” (if you do not know what I’m talking about, you had a terrible childhood). And when it wasn’t summer, we would spend everyday after school together playing in the snow (if there was any), playing in each others basements (because we lived in Michigan and everyone had basements), watching movies, and again play some more house, because when you’re little, that is one of the most fun things to do. Let’s just say her and I had a GREAT childhood together.

Then one day I was walking down the sidewalk from Cam’s house, and saw a for-sale sign in my front yard. As a 13 year old girl, this rocked my world. Everything I had known was about to change, because I knew that meant we were moving to Florida like my parents had always talked about, and away from my best friend, and two older siblings. When I walked inside my house that afternoon my dad explained to me how the economy was not that great, and it would probably take over a year to sell the house. Well God had a different plan and our house was sold within 3 weeks. I was so terrified to tell Cam that I ended up telling her on a car ride with her family in the car so she couldn’t kill me.

We ended up moving 2 weeks later and I had to say goodbye to my best friend. But what I didn’t realize when we left is that I had this amazing thing called a phone, and we talk/talked all the time, and sometimes we even write letters to each other because that is just so much fun! Since my older sister Stephanie still lives in Michigan with her husband, we go up there all the time, and I still go to see Cam. While it was still hard to leave and not get to see my best friend all the time, we are still friends and we still talk all the time. In fact we both went and got our prom dresses recently (separately obviously) and come to find out, we ended up with pretty similar colored dresses! We live 1,500 miles away from each other, but we still think the same. So my advice to you is that if you are going threw the same thing, don’t worry, things get better and no matter what people tell you, you can still be best friends.

-Maddy

20140430-103319.jpg

Leave a Reply

