Airsoft

Dear Jerry,

I have recently picked up a new sport. Airsoft. (Yes! Airsoft is an official sport!) I have been recently working on putting together a loadout. In Airsoft, it means your equipment class (sniper, rifleman pointman, light, medium or heavy infantry, etc) and your Camo pattern/color combo. I have chosen a medium infantry role and it’s corresponding weaponry/clothing. I am looking for a loadout that looks somewhat like the photo. There will be a few slight differences. My gun will be a tan/black color combo with a black M-203 Grenade Launcher on the bottom Picatinny Rail. The pouches will be ACU Camo instead of tan. That about sums it up. Overall, I love airsoft for a couple reasons. One, It is definitely an offbeat hobby. How many people can you meet who enjoy something as different as Airsoft? Not too many and it makes for an interesting conversation topic. Two, it is very fun (to me, at least!) I find it enjoyable to play a game where the object is to be the last person eliminated, capture the flag, or play out a storyline. Three, it is a sport that requires speed, endurance, and sometimes, stealth. In Airsoft, you will find yourself dashing between trees, sprinting across a field to steal a flag, or sneaking through bushes to ambush the enemy. It is a game that requires both physical and mental fitness. A game of strategy. That is the biggest reason why I love it.
There are two main drawbacks to Airsoft. It is dangerous, and it is expensive. Airsoft is dangerous because you are being shot at by a gun that can toss a quarter gram BB anywhere from 300-850 feet at velocities that approach a .22 short (700-850 Feet Per Second) That is a lot of power! The biggest danger is the eye. If you get hit on bare skin from around 20-40 feet, you might bleed a little, but nothing serious. Just make sure you wear eye protection at all times while on the field.
The second drawback is that Airsoft is expensive. A nice automatic rifle will run you anywhere from $120-$400! Anything cheaper then $120 is most often a piece of cheap trash that will break within a couple of months. Trust me. I know. a professionally purchased loadout could cost over $500 WITHOUT a gun!! That is a lot of money for a sport!! (My loadout is NOT professionally done, so it will cost MUCH much less. My guns however, are a different story.)
Even being dangerous and expensive, Airsoft is by far the favorite sport I have ever played, and I look forward to more exciting games.

Sincerely,

Zachary.

20140506-222324.jpg

Leave a Reply

