My Favorite Type of Music

Dear Jerry,

My favorite kind of music is metalcore. If you were to ever hang around with me, then you would probably hear me say something along those lines on more than one occasion. But, since you’re only an [un]dead lizard and probably don’t really listen to music, you may be wondering, “What is metalcore?” Well, in order to understand metalcore, first you have to know what metal is.
Metal is a genre of music [music is like an organized series of sounds that humans like to listen to and/or create] similar to rock [which is another kind of music…. Not an actual rock], but typically metal is heavier and more aggressive. Now, metalcore is a sub-genre of heavy metal. There are many other kinds of sub-genres as well; some of my favorites include, extreme metal, death metal, deathcore, and thrash metal. These sub-genres, in particular, are obviously much more extreme and are usually defined by aggressively-paced guitars/drums and the lead vocalist’s brutal growling [technically called a “death growl”] instead of singing.
Now, before I move on, I want to be clear that there are many more sub-genres of metal that are less intense. But, quite frankly, I don’t know much about them because they do not interest me as much. So, I’m not going to get into them right now.
So now that you know what metal is, I will briefly tell you what many favorite genres and bands are and a few of my reasons why.
I grew up listening to all of the typical, popular Christian songs that you would hear on the radio or on a WOW Hits CD. But, do not misunderstand me, Jerry; I am not saying that there is anything wrong with those types of songs/styles of music. I was just so tired of hearing the same songs over and over again. So, when I came across a Christian hard-rock band called “Skillet” I was instantly hooked. It amazed me that was possible to worship God through such an “edgy” style of music. So, after becoming completely obsessed with them, I began to search for more aggressive metal bands. [e.g. RED, We as Human, Demon Hunter, etc.] And each time I found one band, I would search for another that was even more aggressive. The more intense the music was, the better. And eventually I discovered metalcore.
Metalcore is basically raw emotion. Intense screams/growls, sick guitar riffs, and some bands will even mix other instruments into their songs as well. It’s this incredible intensity that makes your hair stand on-end [well, if you had hair]…. I can’t quite explain the feeling. They just pour all of their hearts and souls into praising God in the best way that they possibly can. It’s incredible. Some of my favorite bands in this genre include; For Today, August Burns Red, Living Sacrifice, and The Devil Wears Prada.
Finally death metal is just…. Insane, to say the least. The music is incredibly fast-paced, aggressive, and very loud. It is one of those styles that you either love to no end or you absolutely cannot tolerate. “Impending Doom” is an excellent example of a Christian death metal band.
A lot of people have asked me why I like these styles of music. And honestly, I can’t really explain it…. I just love all the darkness, passion, anger, extreme intensity, and worship [Impending Doom fans like to call it “Goreship”] that are in these kinds of songs. I can just feel the raw emotion coursing through my veins. It is such an awesome feeling….
Now, as much as I would love to go into why Christian death metal/metalcore is such an incredible ministry, that is a topic for another day. But, if you have not yet had the chance to experience this wickedly awesome genre of music, I would encourage you to check out any of the bands that I have listed in this post. They are devout Christians and are truly using their God-given gifts to preach the Gospel to best of their ability.
I don’t know if all this made very much sense to you, Jerry. You’re only a zombified lizard after all… I think the only way for you to really understand is to listen for yourself.

-Hannah M

Leave a Reply

