Midnight musings

Dear Jerry, 
A lot has changed since you heard from me last. I’m not a child anymore. I’m not entirely made of flesh anymore either. There’s some serious metal going on in my ankle. (Don’t play ultimate frisbee barefoot, Jerry. More on that another day.) 

I’m no longer a member of a huge family of mostly girls. There have been so many boys added lately, both of the brother-in-law and adorable nephew variety. And speaking of nephews, I’m no longer the auntie to just one niece. Well, there’s still only one niece, but now she is joined by four nephews! 

I no longer measure the length of my high school sport career in years, but in months. That’s weird. 

I can’t put off graduation any longer. It’s coming this May, ready or not.

I’m not anxious about flying solo for the first time. Did it. Nailed it.

I don’t have the companionship of a lovable German shepherd anymore, but hopefully that void will be filled by another fluffy buddy before too long.

I wish I could say that I no longer depend on others to drive me around, but that previously mentioned chunk of reconstructive metal has restricted any dreams of cruising around in my own Ferrari (for now).

I’m no longer unemployed! (wut, wut!) And what’s more, I don’t even have just one job. Multitasking to the max.

What more do you need to know, Jerry? We’ve been together since the beginning. You and I have had a lot of good talks, and hopefully we’ll have some more before this year is through.

I’m not going to just get through my senior year; I’m going to live it.

I’m not going to squander my mind; I’m going to invest it.

I’m ready.

Your dearest chum, 

Hannah

Senior.

2016

Leave a Reply

