Bah humbug or whatever

 

Dear Jerry,

 

It’s December and Christmas is rapidly approaching. Only one more school day until we get a much-needed break from school. *victory screech* I would ask if you had any plans, but I venture to guess that lizards don’t do much for the holidays. Since we’re on the topic of holidays, I want to talk about my somewhat unpopular opinion of a popular Christmas tradition — Christmas music. Yeah, I’m not a fan.

Now hang on. Before you break out the pitchforks and torches, hear me out. I’m absolutely not saying I hate Christmas. On the contrary, I very much enjoy it. It is one of my favorite holidays, aside from Halloween. (Yes, I consider Halloween to be a holiday. Fight me.) But I can’t stand popular Christmas music. Especially the ridiculous songs like the one about the annoying child who foolishly wants an extremely aggressive and dangerous beast for Christmas. And I would do anything to forget that cliche song about the girl who can’t stop whining about how she got her heart broken on Christmas and never got over it. And don’t even get me started on the unoriginal carols about Santa Claus. ugh. I just don’t understand why people act like I’m a terrible person because of my distaste for the majority of Christmas songs. Is it so hard to understand why I no longer enjoy a certain type of music after being constantly bombarded with the same repetitive songs everywhere I go? Once Thanksgiving is over, suddenly every store you walk into, every house you visit, and every radio station in existence plays the same like 10 songs all December long. The monotony is irksome and I find the lack of variety disturbing. (heh)

Having said that, I’ll admit that I actually don’t hate on Christmas music as much as I did a few years ago, believe it or not. Over the years I have found a few exceptions that I don’t mind listening to. For example, I’ve grown to love some heavy metal covers of traditional Christmas carols (shocking, I know) and of course the Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s Christmas albums are amazing, without a doubt. I may be a bit of a cynic, but I have no problem acknowledging the fact that there are some good Christmas songs out there. I give appreciation where appreciation is due.

Anyway, I understand most readers probably don’t share my negative view of Christmas music, Jerry. A lot of my opinions are rather unpopular, so I honestly couldn’t care less. All really want to say is this; whether you love Christmas music or loathe it, I think at least some of us can agree that we need to let the needlessly tedious and overly-repetitive songs die.

 

-Hannah M.

 

 

Leave a Reply

