Adventures in DC

Dear Jerry,

Alright. Well, I guess I’m supposed to tell you about our recent trip to Washington D.C..

As you already know, Miss Sarah decided to take some of the One Room kids on a trip to our nation’s capital. And since we live about 45 minutes or so outside DC; my mom, my sister, and I participated in most of it. Under normal circumstances, living that far outside the city would’ve made traveling back and forth for that many days inconvenient. But, thankfully there is a newly-built metro station near our area that allowed us to ride the metro into the city and avoid most of the chaos of commuter traffic.

Anyway. I’ll try to spare you the details that have already been covered multiple times already. Basically, this trip consisted of touring around the city and seeing as many historical sights as possible. We visited the major Smithsonian museums, monuments, and government buildings. After living here for 5 years, I’ve lost count of the number of times I have been into DC. At first, I felt as if I had seen pretty much everything there was to see multiple times. And, while that was true to some degree, I ended up being pleasantly surprised. I finally had the chance to visit the Holocaust museum, which I can say with confidence was my favorite part of the trip. Ford’s Theater, Library of Congress, the 9/11 Pentagon Memorial, and Arlington National Cemetery were new sights to me as well. I have been to the Smithsonians many, many times by now, but it was still fun to visit them again. I think my favorite has always been the Air and Space museum. 

In summary, this school trip turned out better than I thought it would. I had fun and I enjoyed the much-needed exercise. Even though I missed the Supernatural convention to go on this thing, I’d say it was worth it. 😛

 

-Hannah M.

Leave a Reply

