Nobody for President 2016

Jerry,

With Election Day being practically around the corner, the blog assignment for the week is, unsurprisingly, voting. I am supposed to write about my thoughts on our country’s presidential election this year and the candidate I “support”. While I don’t really have a problem stating my thoughts on this election (spoiler: it sucks), I have some issues with being required to publicly side with a candidate.

First and foremost, I am not yet eligible to vote. Therefore, I have no say in this election whatsoever. That in itself is a strong enough reason for me not to write this blog, but I digress. Secondly, I strongly dislike and disagree with both candidates. They are both the worst of the worst in their own ways. Even the third-party candidates are, though preferable to some, difficult to fully side with.

Finally, because of the controversy surrounding this election, I feel like posting a political opinion of this nature on a public blog would be unwise – especially for someone my age. Once something is uploaded to the internet, it’s there forever. Who knows what kind of consequences that could have in my future?¬†Besides, I’m somewhat of a private person. So I’m not exactly thrilled that I’ve had to put some of my opinions and aspects of my life on this blog already. Perhaps this isn’t as big of a deal as I’m making it out to be. But with this election being as controversial as it is, I’d rather be cautious.

As for my thoughts on this whole ordeal, I think it’s an absolute mess. Two of the most disliked presidential candidates in history are running against each other and it’s up to the American people to pick one of them to mess up our country. At this point, I am 100% done with all of it. All traces of amusement I originally had are long gone and I’m ready for this election to be over.

This post was probably really boring for you Jerry, since you’re only a lizard. Sorry. I’ll try to be more witty in my next post.

 

-Hannah M.

 

Leave a Reply

