Blog #5

Hey Jerry!

With November coming to a close, National Novel Writing Month closes as well. For many, this is a time of great celebration. Some rejoicing because they finished their novel, others praising the fact that it’s over. As for me and my novel, let’s just say it’s not done. My story this year is not completely drawn out. All I know was that my main character ends up at a galactic space academy. He does not want to be there whatsoever, so he tries his best to get kicked out. Unfortunately, things don’t end up going as planned.

So, in honor of NaNo (and it coming to an end), here is an excerpt from my novel.

I let out a sigh as I stood in front of the academy. Alright, I thought to myself all I have to do is make a fool of myself, get kicked out and go back to my normal, daily life. Never have I wanted to screw up as bad as I do right now. I almost feel guilty. But think of all the work and responsibilities I’ll have if I actually try.
The classroom’s door read Tri-setular Astrophysics. I laugh quietly to myself. Failing this may be easier than I thought. I entered the classroom expecting the professor to be in the middle of his lecture. Instead, I stood gazing at an empty classroom. I looked at my watch. Class should have started twenty-five minutes ago. There was a large clock hanging on the wall behind the podium where the professor would stand. The clock read 8:10. “What?” I said in disbelief, “Can’t be.” I checked my watch again. Of course… it was broken. “This is just great.” I started to think of a way to still be late. Oh, I know. I’ll just go get something to eat and then come back in when I originally wanted to. I headed back towards the entrance and opened the door to find Professor Johnson standing right in front of me. “Well good morning! I’m happy to see you here prompt and early.”

There you have it! I hope you enjoyed it and are intrigued to find out what happens next even though I don’t really know what happens.

-Stephen

Leave a Reply

