Our Time in Washington D.C.

Dear Jerry,

I recently arrived home from One Room’s second trip to Washington D.C. My classmates and I had another wonderful time in our nation’s capital. Many of us thought that last year couldn’t be topped; but I believe it was. This year was full of surprises, brand new experiences and many sights and sounds that we know and love from last year. In today’s blog I will do my best to narrow down my highlights of the trip. 

First, I must say that it is impossible for me to choose my favorite part of the trip because I enjoyed all that we did so much. I truly don’t know what the best part was in my opinion. With that said, we did so many awesome things! The National Spy Museum and the National Museum of African American History and Culture were just two of the new things we did this year. Both were very fun and interesting. Another brand new experience for many of us wasn’t a museum or exhibit, but snow! My siblings and I got to see it for the first time. On our last day there, we got to have a big snowball fight and made a unicorn-pig snowman (it had an even longer title which I am unable to remember). There, of course, was the National Air and Space Museum which we went to last year but it is so amazing we had to do it again (if you can’t tell, that’s my favorite museum). Even there, we did something new. Adam Gillispie and I got to do the fighter jet simulator for the F-4 Phantom II. I was the pilot and Adam was the gunner. We got the rating of ace for shooting down eight aircraft. In the end, one of the great parts of the trip was just being back in D.C. I’m so glad I was able to be a part of this trip again and the memories we made there will have a lasting impact for years to come.

Until next time,

Stephen

Leave a Reply

